Listen Live Graphics (Indy)
WTLC Featured Video

Indianapolis’ iconic St. Elmo Steak House is among five restaurants to be honored as “America’s Classics” by the James Beard Foundation at a New York City awards ceremony in May. According to the Beard foundation, the America’s Classics award is given to restaurants with timeless appeal, “beloved” establishments that reflect the character of their community.

“That’s the type of restaurant we are,” said St. Elmo owner Craig Huse. “It’s Indianapolis’ restaurant.”

The awards ceremony honoring restaurants, chefs and other food and beverage professionals will take place May 7 at Lincoln Center’s Avery Fisher Hall in New York City.

Huse and others from St. Elmo, including executive chef Dave Foegley, will attend the ceremony.

“We’re very excited and honored,” Huse said.

According to the Beard foundation, restaurants qualifying for the America’s Classics award must be locally owned and in existence at least 10 years. The James Beard Foundation’s restaurant committee, composed of 17 people throughout the country, including food critics and culinary writers, selects the honorees. The public can also suggest restaurants for the award.

Other restaurants receiving the 2012 America’s classic honor include The Fry Bread House in Phoenix; Nora’s Fish Creek Inn in Wilson, Wyo.; Jones Bar-B-Q Diner in Marianna, Ark.; and Shady Glen in Manchester, Conn.

Indiana also has three chefs on the Beard semifinalist list for best chef in the Great Lakes region: Regina Mehallick of R Bistro and Greg Hardesty of Recess and Room Four, all in Indianapolis; and Dave Tallent of Restaurant Tallent in Bloomington.

Finalists in the chef category will be announced March 19.

Source: IndyStar|topnews|text|