Listen Live
Listen Live Graphics (Indy)

Wayman Lawrence Tisdale was a star professional NBA player and legendary bass guitarist in the jazz world. The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Famer was a team veteran with the Indiana Pacers, the Sacramento Kings and the Phoenix Suns.


A native of Tulsa, Oklahoma, Tisdale was raised in a well-known spiritual family. His father was pastor of Friendship Church for 21 years. Upon his death in 1997, the city renamed a local Expressway the L.L. Tisdale Parkway in his father’s honor. It was at his father’s church that Tisdale learned and mastered the bass guitar. Jazz was his future.


By the time he was a high school grad, Tisdale had become one of the most heavily recruited basketball players in the country. The coach at the University of Oklahoma wanted Tisdale on the team, so he changed the team’s practice schedule so Tisdale could attend his father’s church services on Sunday in Tulsa.


Tisdale was a three-time Big Eight Conference Player of the Year and the first player in collegiate history to be named a first-team All-American in his first three seasons. Tisdale holds the record at University of Oklahoma for the most points scored by any player through his freshman and sophomore seasons. He won a gold medal on the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team.

In 1997, Tisdale became the first player in any sport to have his jersey, number 23, retired by the University of Oklahoma.


In March 2007, Tisdale was diagnosed and treated for bone cancer after falling and suffering a broken leg. Only a year later, part of his leg was amputated to keep the disease from spreading. While he proceeded with his music career, even touring 21 cities with popular jazz artists, Tisdale’s health declined unexpectedly. He died in May 2009.


This month, “The Wayman Tisdale Story,” a documentary of his life, will be released on DVD with a special dedication CD to his memory. The special documentary includes commentary from Michael Jordan, Dave Koz and a host of Tisdale’s family and friends.

The following is a list of songs on “The Wayman Tisdale Story” soundtrack:

1. Tell It Like It TIS (featuring George Duke), from “Way Up”

2. The Introduction, from “The Fonk Record”

3. Rebound (featuring Dave Koz), from “Rebound”

4. It’s Alright, from “21”

5. Ready To Hang, from “Hang Time”

6. Let’s Ride (featuring George Duke), from “The Fonk Record”

7. One On One, from “Rebound”

8. Gabrielle, from “Power Forward”

9. Way Up, from “Way Up”

10. Slam Dunk* previously unreleased

11. Everything In You, from “Hang Time”

12. Glory Glory, from “Hang Time”

13.  Cryin’ For Me [Wayman’s Song] (performed by Toby Keith), from “American Ride”

Click here to view the trailer of “The Wayman Tisdale Story.”