Listen Live Graphics (Indy)
WTLC Featured Video

The Washington Times is reporting that a source close to singer-songwriter Stevie Wonder has released a list of some the biggest names in the music industry joining in the boycott against Florida’s “stand your ground” laws.

Artists joining Mr. Wonder reportedly include Rod Stewart, Madonna, Usher, Justin Timberlake, R. Kelly, Rihanna and Alicia Keys. Rappers Jay-Z, Kanye West, Trey Songz, Young Jeezy and Wale also signed on to the boycott, The Hill reported.

The 63-year-old Mr. Wonder said he would not be performing in Florida or any other state that recognizes “stand your ground” laws, which some say contributed to George Zimmerman’s acquittal in the fatal shooting of 17-year-old Trayvon Martin.

“I decided today that until the Stand Your Ground law is abolished in Florida, I will never perform there again,” Mr. Wonder said July 14 while performing in Quebec City. “As a matter of fact, wherever I find that law exists, I will not perform in that state or in that part of the world.”

According to America Urban Radio’s April Ryan, several artists on the list already have canceled performances in the Sunshine State.

Source: WashingtonTimes